New to the forum

New to SCUK.co.uk? say hello, give us an idea of who you are, and show us a pic of your pride and joy. were friendly and wont bite!
pwcgwynedd
Got muddy boots
Got muddy boots

New to the forum

Post by pwcgwynedd » Sat Dec 31, 2011 10:59 pm

Hi....Newbie here.
I'm looking for a anus for getting my jetski to the beach (my peugeot 407 is great at getting stuck in the sand!!), and I'm hearing good things about the SJ's...So I thought I'd sign up here, and find out what I need to know.

Oh....And Happy New Year :doublethumbs:
pwcgwynedd.co.uk Ski North Wales with us

turbo-tom
I spend far too much time on here

Re: New to the forum

Post by turbo-tom » Sat Dec 31, 2011 11:12 pm

welcome to the club :D ,

someone else will be able to shed light on about buying a sj then me :lol: :lol:

, the rearfloor/arches rot quiet bad , normally the chassis are rot free , check bottom of doors etc for rot

try and get one with the 1,6 8v converstion , or 16v even better :brows:

but mechanically wise there pretty good , and there is no ecus to drown in water and kill

go up and down the gears in the gearbox and play around with the transfere box but not at high speeds :lol:

if there is a knob pull it , if there is a switch flick it :lol:
Tom :)

Ford Fiesta ST :D

ScottieJ
The Boss
The Boss

Post by ScottieJ » Sun Jan 01, 2012 12:51 pm

:welcome: to :S:cuk

As tom says the main thing to look out for is rust, look everywhere, under carpets as well if they are still fitted. The hardest area to fix is behind the seats where the floor raises around the body mounts both inside and underneath, if this area is rotton on the underneath then you either need to be able to weld or expect a big repair bill. You need to lift the body off the chassis to repair this area, not that hard but quite time consuming.