Hand Brake

Starts at the flywheel, ends at the hubs, any problems along them lines, ask your questions here.
archiepie
Got muddy boots
Got muddy boots

Hand Brake

Post by archiepie » Thu Dec 04, 2008 6:25 pm

Hi There, I'm new to the SJ world as I've just been given one to play with. I've a SJ413 (94) and seriously need to know how to tighten the handbrake in idiot proof terms. Everything is standard so if someone could help I'd be gratefu.

Gary

Tramp
Suzuki, will you marry me?

Re: Hand Brake

Post by Tramp » Thu Dec 04, 2008 6:51 pm

okay on the sj there are several different types of handbrake cable, the first sort is a drum break on the prop shaft, the second is a x2 cables off your handbreak to either rear wheel (what i have) and the other way only uses one cable (at least i think and i have no idea how that works!) with the one that splits into two cables, there is an adjuster on the back of each break drum, to take up the slack.

Luke

bourneyo
The Boss
The Boss

Post by bourneyo » Fri Dec 05, 2008 10:43 pm

On some there is an adjuster on the handbrake underneath the floor pan, its a case of wiggling round on your back to get to it then just twist it so it tightens. Have you checked your brake shoes they may also need replacing. if they do slacken your handbrake cable right off to fit the new ones, then you will have plenty of adjustment for when they wear out.

Dan 8-)
http://www.suzukiclubuk.co.uk the new home for your suzuki sj

Dj_Biggy
Got muddy boots
Got muddy boots

Post by Dj_Biggy » Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:57 am

hi there - i have a handbrakeon my propshaft- just brought my sj410 and i got the handbrake in pieces - anyone got a picture or drawing to help me? pleeeezzzeee ;-)

Kirkynut
Got muddy boots
Got muddy boots

Post by Kirkynut » Fri Mar 20, 2009 1:07 am

With respect to the original post, if it's a 413, it's unlikey to have a transmission handbrake so it will operate on both the rear drums via either one or two cables.